Marketing & Advertising

The members of our Marketing & Advertising Law group have broad experience and expertise in issues relating to the advertising of products and services in Canada and the rules and regulations relating to marketing at all levels of government. Our group assists with the review of advertising materials to ensure compliance with relevant legislation and regulations for all types of media, including print, radio and television broadcasting and materials for online distribution. Our representation of various industries is diverse, with pharmaceutical, food industry, personal care products, agricultural and financial sector clients being among those for whom we provide this type of review and advice. We have substantial experience with issues relating to promotional campaigns such as:

  • advertising claim substantiation
  • drafting and negotiation of joint promotion and co-branding agreements
  • comparative advertising
  • sponsorships
  • issues arising in the context of social media advertising campaigns

The special rules and regulations that apply to contests, sweepstakes, coupon and point of sale promotions at the provincial and federal levels of government in Canada, is an area in which our clients have frequently called upon our expertise.

In the field of marketing, our work includes the review of product labels compliance with labelling requirements and appropriate trademark identification. We also have an in-depth knowledge of the English and French language requirements for Canadian signage and packaging, including substantial experience and expertise in connection with the requirements of the Charter of the French Language in the Province of Quebec. Representative of our experience, we successfully represented the International Trademark Association (INTA) as an intervenor in Quebec litigation concerning the interpretation of the Charter of the French Language. We frequently provide advice regarding Canadian legislation, regulations and guidelines affecting the importation and sale of a wide variety of products in this country.

Our litigation lawyers have substantial experience representing famous brand owners in a wide range of litigation, disputes and investigations in the advertising and marketing fields, including anti-competition allegations, false or misleading advertising claims (including in respect of Advertising Standards Canada disputes), and disputes regarding comparative advertising and product compatibility claims. Our partners are among Canada’s leading trial lawyers, and we have considerable experience and expertise in connection with consumer surveys and scientific testing in the context of these actions.

Primary Contacts
Keltie Sim Luft
Partner
Toronto
Barrister and Solicitor, Patent and Trademark Agent

Phone: 416.593.5514
Steven Garland
Partner
Ottawa
Barrister and Solicitor, Patent and Trademark Agent

Phone: 613.232.2486
Mark Evans
Partner
Toronto
Barrister and Solicitor, Patent and Trademark Agent

Phone: 416.593.5514
Christian Bolduc
Partner
Montreal
Barrister and Solicitor, Trademark Agent

Phone: 514.954.1500
View All Team Members
A A A

Marketing et publicité

Nos professionnels en droit du marketing et de la publicité ont développé une vaste expertise sur les enjeux du droit de la publicité et du marketing de produits et de services au Canada et sur les règles et la réglementation du marketing à tous les échelons gouvernementaux. La pratique de notre groupe de professionnels comprend la révision de matériel publicitaire pour s'assurer du respect des lois et règlements pertinents, et ce, pour tous types de média, y compris la presse, la radio et la télévision de même que le matériel destiné à la diffusion sur Internet. Les entreprises que nous représentons dans ce domaine et pour lesquelles nous effectuons ce type de révision sont nombreuses et comprennent diverses industries, dont la pharmaceutique, l'alimentaire, les produits de beauté, l'agriculture et le secteur financier. Nous possédons une solide expérience dans l'examen de questions relatives aux campagnes de promotion telles que :

  • les prétentions de rendement dans la publicité
  • la rédaction et la négociation d'accords de promotion conjointe et de co-marquage
  • la publicité comparative
  • le parrainage
  • les enjeux relatifs à des campagnes de publicité sur des médias sociaux

Nos clients font souvent appel à notre expertise concernant les règles particulières et les règlements régissant les concours, les tirages, la publicité par coupon et la promotion au point de vente, tant au niveau du gouvernement provincial que fédéral.

En matière de marketing, nos services couvrent la révision d'étiquettes de produits pour s'assurer de leur conformité avec les exigences d'étiquetage et pour assurer une identification adéquate des marques de commerce. Nous possédons aussi une connaissance approfondie des exigences en français et en anglais pour l'empaquetage et l'affichage au Canada, y compris une vaste expérience et une expertise en matière d'exigences de la Charte de la langue française dans la province de Québec. Nous avons par exemple représenté avec succès l'International Trademark Association (INTA) qui intervenait dans un litige au Québec concernant l'interprétation de la Charte de la langue française. Nous sommes souvent appelés à conseiller nos clients au sujet de la législation canadienne, des règlements et des lignes directrices visant l'importation et la vente d'une foule de produits au Canada.

Les professionnels de notre groupe de litige possèdent une expérience considérable dans la représentation en justice de propriétaires de marques de commerce notoires dans un grand nombre de litiges, de différends et d'enquêtes concernant la publicité et le marketing, y compris des allégations de pratiques anticoncurrentielles, de publicités fausses ou trompeuses (y compris des disputes concernant les normes canadiennes de la publicité) et des disputes au sujet de la publicité comparative et de prétentions de compatibilité entre des produits. Nos associés font partie des meilleurs plaideurs au Canada et nous avons une expérience considérable et une vaste expertise dans le domaine des sondages de consommateurs et des tests scientifiques dans le cadre d'actions judiciaires.
Premiers contacts

Keltie Sim Luft
Associé
Toronto
Avocat, Agent de brevets et de marques de commerce

Téléphone: 416.593.5514

Steven Garland
Associé
Ottawa
Avocat, Agent de brevets et de marques de commerce

Téléphone: 613.232.2486

Mark Evans
Associé
Toronto
Avocat, Agent de brevets et de marques de commerce

Téléphone: 416.593.5514

Christian Bolduc
Associé
Montréal
Avocat, Agent de marques de commerce

Téléphone: 514.954.1500




Téléphone:
Voir tous les membres
de l'équipe
A A A